Physics home > People > Professor Sir Michael Berry, FRS > Prizes and Awards
Site Index

Starburst Professor Sir Michael Berry Note. This is now replaced by my new page:

wheel picture wheel picture Logo

Starburst Prizes and Awards

1978 Maxwell Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics.
1982 Elected to the Royal Society of London.
1983 Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.
1983 Elected Fellow of the Royal Institution.
1986 Elected Member of the Royal Society of Sciences, Uppsala.
1989 Elected member of the European Academy
1990 Julius Edgar Lilienfeld prize of the American Physical Society
1990 Paul Dirac Medal and prize of the Institute of Physics
1990 Elected to Indian Academy of Sciences
1990 Royal Medal of the Royal Society
1993 Naylor Prize, London Mathematical Society
1994 Louis-Vuitton Moët-Hennessey 'Science for Art' prize (Paris)
1995 Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize
1995 Elected Foreign Member of the National Academy of Science of the USA
1995 Elected Member of the London Mathematical Society
1996 Dirac Medal and Prize of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste.
1996 Knight Bachelor Queen's Birthday Honours, 15 June
1997 Kapitsa Medal of the Russian Academy of Sciences
1998 Wolf Prize in Physics
1998 Elected a Governor of the Weizmann Institute
1999 Honorary Fellow, Institute of Physics
2000 Elected Foreign Member of Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
2000 Ig Nobel prize in physics
2001 Onsager Medal (Norwegian Technical University, Trondheim)
2002 2002 Novartis/Daily Telegraph 'Visions of Science' competition, 1st prize (Science as Art), 3rd prize (Science Concepts)
2005 Elected to Royal Society of Edinburgh
2005 Polya Prize, London Mathematical Society
2005 Chancellor's Medal, University of Bristol
2010 Elected first Honorary Member of the Mexican Mathematical Society
2012 Distinguished Visiting Professor, Marymount University, Virginia